The Truth of Reality and Circumstances

Rachel has no children and presumed she wouldn’t have much to do with the children from Sam’s first marriage because they were grown up and in college. “I forgot that kids come home from college in the summer and at Christmas…I’ve never liked teenage boys. I didn’t like them when I was a teenage girl. I felt like this sloppy teenage boy had been foisted on me. So I was angry all the time. I resented his presence and cried a lot. I probably should have had more empathy for the kid than I had pity for myself. But essentially, I just put up with it until it was over.”

 

– Excerpt from What No One Tells the Bride by Marg Stark

Leave a Reply

