Pregnancy Scare #4; Fearless Mom: Natalie Mendez

Name: Natalie Mendez
image
Age: 25
Year you graduated high school: 2006
Year you found out you were pregnant: 2006
Number of children: 3

The Uh Oh Moment: The day I found out I was pregnant…I remember it like it was yesterday. I was 18, just finished high school, and living in an over priced efficiency apartment with my at the time boyfriend Justin. I remember who was there for each test. Each reaction was different.

The Mom Moment: For my first son, I was so in love with his father. When I saw positive on the test I cried my first tears of pure joy! I thought, “Oh dang, it just got real.” It was perfect. When Jaedin (my oldest) came into this world summer of 2007, I thought instantly, “I’m a mom.” Then came Adrian the following year, and Cameron this past year.

image
Jaedin and Adrian maxin’ and relaxin’…until the cameras are on!
image
The third cub added to the pride, Cameron.

image

***Any man can be a father. It takes a real man to be a dad.***

 Father/Dad: My relationship with my children’s fathers was always so up and down. Of course after we split is when ish really hits the fan. Men are worried about “baby momma drama” well trust me, baby daddy drama does exist! It seemed their fathers would do things sometimes just out of spite, just to make me miserable; knock me down. And it worked sometimes. But we all grow up at some point and I like to think we have good relationships as parents. I’ve even maintain a friendship with one. Which is what kids need to see; good role models.

It seemed like through each pregnancy it was something. Each one seemed stressful and never ending. It seemed as if that’s when the majority of our issues began. And after pregnancy, it just got harder. Arguments got worse, love was lost. As far as our relationship as parents, we don’t always agree, but I like to believe now since we are older, we are able to put our differences aside.

But my children’s fathers are definitely dads. They may get on my nerves, do dumb things, and fight with me about any and everything, but that doesn’t take from being a good dad! 🙂

Them vs. You: I’ve been told I’m like my mother! I wasn’t raised by my father. My mom was a single mother and also had children with different fathers. It wasn’t till I was 9 that she found my step dad…the best step dad a girl could ask for! He treated us all like his own!

I feel the way I was raised made me who I am; respectful, strong, kind, gentle-hearted, etc. I think I turned out okay so I think my boys are headed in the same direction. So far I’m proud to say I have wonderful boys…young men…and they have so much more life to go to make me even prouder. 🙂

The harshest thing I was told? I honestly can’t recall any negativity. I do know they said before, “Haven’t [I] learned how to use birth control?” But it was all in fun. Everyone was always excited!

Fearful Moment: I’ve had a few low moments as a parent. I’ve been away from my oldest because his father took him from me, and through the court system with my middle against his father because he just didn’t want him to be with me since I moved out of state. It seemed like their fathers were so against me and I couldn’t understand why. But later on I heard “I’m sorry, I wasn’t thinking.”

Fearless Moment: My favorite moment is when my children said “I love you” with meaning, not just because I was saying it. At that moment, as a parent, you know you must be doing something right! Seems like an “I love you mom” makes a grey day totally brighten up, and all the negative is washed away!

Support System: Honestly, I don’t think my friends cared either way if I was pregnant or not. [They were] happy for me I suppose. Ha! But of course when you become pregnant, your “friends” become distant because you can no longer do the things they want to do and you’re always tired and just want to sleep whenever you can!

"...I also enjoy cuddling in bed with my kids, watching kid movies, parks, the zoo; anything for the kids."
“…I also enjoy cuddling in bed with my kids, watching kid movies, parks, the zoo; anything for the kids.”

Final thoughts….
My boys are my world. I’m a young single mother. Yes I enjoy me time here and there but I also enjoy cuddling in bed with my kids, watching kid movies, parks, the zoo; anything for the kids. I wouldn’t trade my life as a parent for anything. Its one…well 3 of my greatest accomplishments.

Leave a Reply

