I Know Better…

I am not a parent.

I came close to being one twice. My first close call was around 16 years old. The young lady I was involved with lived ways away from me and we weren’t in a relationship. I was at her house one evening (when mom was away; you know how it was back in the day) and she gave me the news before things got hot and heavy.

Image

Needless to say I went limp.

But then I started thinking with the head on my shoulders. Fear kicked in immediately. I’m not going to be dramatic and say my life flashed before my eyes, but I was definitely at a lost for words. So I asked what any sympathetic, sensitive, and selfless male teen would ask…,

“What do YOU want to do about it?”

Her answer…well, as I said, I am NOT a parent.

download (1)

So I will not pretend I have an authoritative voice on parenting. I will not pass judgement on those who did become young parents. I don’t want to tell anyone how to do their parental duties.

But I HAVE been working around and with children since I was a child (age 14). I have extensively  worked with kids from ages 1 to 18. I’ve mentored youth from all socioeconomic bankgrounds (not a typo). I’ve tended to needy and the special needs kids. I’ve seen fatherless offsprings and nanny-full, privileged ungratefuls.  I have countless hours of training from Ages and Stages to Child Abuse Prevention. The only differences between a parent and myself; I get to give the kids back at the end of the day and a few more hours of sleep. Other than that, WE ARE ALL still learning.

And with that said, these stories are meant to be lessons. Lessons on life, lessons on love, lessons about perseverance, and most importantly, PROGRESS. Anyone can become a parent overnight; but it takes a lifetime and commitment to become a Mom/Dad.

“Without struggle, there is no progress.”  download (2)

– Frederick Douglass

These are raw accounts from real people. How that first thought of flight turned into a fight to bring a new life in this world and be the best thing this baby has ever seen. I hope you enjoy and take something of value from the development of these primary caregivers.

Spread the word.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

